We are not-for-profit, we have no hidden agendas and we are accountable.
This is reflected in everything we do.

Board of Directors

The Screenrights Board is elected by members. Directors serve a three year term. Each year four directors resign and may stand for re-election.

Jill Bryant

Originating Producer, Walking with Dinosaurs – The Live Experience. Former Marketing Director, Asia-Pacific, BBC Worldwide Ltd. Director since 2003. Elected Chairman 2016. 

Ben Grant

Managing Director of Goalpost Pictures, with credits spanning three decades of award-winning feature films and television. Vice President of Screen Producers Australia, Board Member of the Film Certification Advisory Board. Director since 2013. Elected Deputy Chairman 2016.


Anne Chesher

Education consultant with PhD thesis “Television Content in the 21st Century Classroom”. Over 20 years experience producing online education creative media for the television industry (clients include ABC, SBS, Foxtel, National Geographic Channel). Former secondary school teacher and writer of ATOM study guides. Director since 2014. 

Larissa Berehndt

Professor Berehndt is a  Eualeyai/Kamillaroi woman. Professor of Law and Director of Research at the  Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at the University of Technology, Sydney. Chair of  the Humanities and Creative Arts panel of the Australian Research Council College of  Experts. Board member of the Museum of Contemporary Art, Tranby Aboriginal College and Director of Bangarra Dance Theatre. Director since 2017.

Kim Dalton OAM

Producer, distributor and broadcaster with over 40 years' experience in the screen industry. Former CEO, Australian Film Commission; former Director, ABC Television. Chair, Freeview Australia; Chair, Asian Animation Summit and recipient of Order of Australia medal for service to the Australian film and television industry.  

John Ford BA, LLB

Media Consultant, Lawyer and Company Director. Clients have included: Telstra Corporation, TVI/Sci-Fi and TVN Channel. Director, Sydney Children’s Hospital Network. Director since 1997. 

David Anderson

Director, Corporate Strategy & Planning at Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Over 20 years experience in the media industry. Director since 2012. 

Chris Oliver-Taylor

Managing Director, Matchbox Pictures. Director since 2010. 


Jonathan Carter

Head of the Legal, Corporate & Policy Group, APRA AMCOS. Management Committee member and Past President of the Copyright Society of Australia. Director since 2017.

Cathy Service

Over 20 years experience in the media industry. Former Head of Finance & Administration with BBC Worldwide Australasia. Currently Chief Operating Officer with KJA Engaging Solutions. Director since 2011. 


Victoria Spackman

Chief Executive and co-owner of the Gibson Group, Board member of Education New Zealand and previous Board member of SPADA (the NZ Screen Production and Development Association). Director since 2011. 


Geoffrey Atherden (AM)

Writer and former president of both the Australian Writers’ Guild and Australian Writers’ Foundation, Geoffrey is well known for his multi award winning television programs including Mother and Son, BabaKiueria and Grass Roots. Geoffrey has also served two terms on the board of Screen NSW, and in 2009 received an Order of Australia. Director since 2016.