The Code Reviewer

Suite 704
4 Young Street
NEUTRAL BAY NSW 2089
EMAIL: codereviewer@gmail.com

COPYRIGHT COLLECTING SOCIETIES CODE OF CONDUCT CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS 2019

Each of the copyright collecting societies, Australasian Performing Right Association Limited ("APRA"), Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society Limited ("AMCOS"), Phonographic Performance Company of Australia Limited ("PPCA"), Copyright Agency Limited ("Copyright Agency"), Audio-Visual Copyright Society Limited ("Screenrights"), Australian Writers' Guild Authorship Collecting Society Limited ("AWGACS") and Australian Screen Directors Authorship Collecting Society Limited ("ASDACS"), subscribes to a code of conduct. In its original form, the Code came into effect in July 2002.

A copy of the Code is available on each Society's website and can be downloaded or, if requested, a copy can be supplied by post. *

Compliance by participating collecting societies with the Code's standards of conduct is the subject of an independent annual review. The Code Reviewer for this purpose is former Federal Court judge and former President of the Copyright Tribunal of Australia, The Hon Kevin Lindgren AM, QC. He is currently reviewing the Societies' compliance with the Code during the period 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019.

The Code allows for interested parties to make submissions to the Code Reviewer concerning a collecting society's compliance or non-compliance with the Code. Accordingly, should you wish to make such a submission to Dr Lindgren, please do so in writing to the address above by no later than **31 July 2019**.

It would assist if your submission referred to any particular provision of the Code with which you contend that a collecting society has not complied.

* Please note that for the month of July 2019, two versions of the Code will appear on each Society's website. The version titled "2018 Code of Conduct" applied from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019 and is relevant to this year's compliance review. The version titled "2019 Code of Conduct" will apply for the period 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2020 and will be relevant to next year's compliance review.