screenrights

Dear Member

I am writing to provide you with some important information about the forthcoming elections for the Screenrights Board of Directors. In the near future Screenrights Company Secretary, Susan Casali, will also write to you with information about the nomination and election process and timetable.

As a Screenrights member, you are entitled to nominate a candidate (either yourself or another person of your choosing) to stand for election to the office of Director on Screenrights' Board at the next **Annual General Meeting** on **28 October 2021**.

The Board of Screenrights presently has a prescribed number of twelve Directors. Each Director is elected for a three year term, with a limit of three terms unless the Board endorses a fourth term, under changes to the Constitution endorsed by the members in 2019. Prior to 2019, there was no maximum term for Directors.

Screenrights aims through its workforce and through the membership of its Board to reflect the diversity of the Australian and New Zealand community and for its services to promote diversity in the screen sector to better serve its members and the stakeholders who access its services

Other changes were made to Screenrights' Constitution in 2019 pursuant to which three positions are always allocated for Authorial Directors (Writer, Director and Composer) and one position is allocated for a New Zealand Director. The remaining positions are described as General Director positions.

In accordance with rotations now prescribed under the Constitution, the election this year will be for four vacancies: three General Director positions and one-Authorial Director position, to be filled by a Screen Composer. The four vacancies are as a result of Directors Jonathan Carter, Kim Dalton, Jack Ford and Georgina Waite completing three year terms.

After twenty four years as a Director of Screenrights, Jack Ford is retiring. Kim Dalton will have completed two terms as a Director, has been Chair of the organisation since 2019 and is standing for re-election as a General Director. Georgina Waite will have completed one term as a Director, has been Deputy Chair of the organisation since 2019 and is also standing for re-election as a General Director.

Jonathan Carter will have served one term as a Director and is standing for re-election as a ScreenComposer Director. Eligibility criteria apply for the Authorial (Composer) Director position as follows:

 Composer Director means the Authorial Director who meets the requirements set out in Article 6.9(b)(ii) as a composer who is member of APRA on the basis of composing music that has been created for screen or as an office holder of APRA.

A Board candidate does not need to be a member of Screenrights. They must, however, be a person who is ordinarily resident in Australia or New Zealand.

Board membership and succession is discussed on an ongoing basis by the Board. The Board has also recently conducted a review of its operations and determined an overall preferred skills set as follows:

Strategic expertise, accounting and finance, legal, risk management, governance, digital transformation, industry knowledge, understanding of government, managing people and achieving change, marketing and communications.

In the context of this preferred skills set and its present membership, the Board will be supporting the re-election of Jonathan Carter, Kim Dalton and Georgina Waite as Directors.

In regard to industry knowledge the Board has noted that presently Ben Grant is the only working Australian Producer Director and that Ben is due to retire at the 2022 AGM following three terms on the Screenrights Board. The Board will be recommending to members that the vacancy created by the retirement of Jack Ford is filled by an Australian Producer, and the Board encourages suitably qualified candidates to apply. At its meeting on 22 September 2021 the Board will review all nominations received and the Chair will write to all members ahead of voting opening 1 October 2020 to advise members of the outcome of these discussions.

The Board thanks all members for their support during the past year, and looks forward to a safe and prosperous 2022.

Yours sincerely

Kim Dalton Chair